MSU faculty earn University Distinguished Professor title

Contact: Tom Oswald, University Relations, (517) 432-0920,

Jun 15, 2007

EAST LANSING, Mich. — Ten MSU professors have been named University Distinguished Professors in recognition of their achievements in the classroom, laboratory and community.

The designations, recommended by MSU President Lou Anna K. Simon, were approved by the MSU Board of Trustees at its June 15 meeting.

This is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and public service achievements.

Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities.

The newly named University Distinguished Professors are:

  • Wolfgang Bauer, Department of Physics and Astronomy; National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory
  • Timothy Beers, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Michael Bratton, Department of Political Science; African Studies Center
  • Gary Cloud, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Robert Floden, departments of Teacher Education, and Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education; Institute for Research on Teaching and Learning
  • Roger Haut, departments of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, and Mechanical Engineering; Osteopathic Medicine Research and Advanced Study Programs
  • Laurie Kaguni, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Ramani Narayan, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Piotr Piecuch, Department of Chemistry
  • William Taylor, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife

These 10 individuals bring to 104 the number of faculty members who have been named University Distinguished Professor since the designation was established by the university and approved by the MSU Board of Trustees in 1989.