MSU faculty earn distinguished professor title

Contact: Mark Kuykendall, Media Communications, office: (517) 355-2282, cell: (734) 678-2789,

Jun 17, 2015

Ten Michigan State University professors have been named University Distinguished Professors in recognition of their achievements in the classroom, laboratory and community.

The designations, recommended by President Lou Anna K. Simon, were approved by the MSU Board of Trustees at its June 17 meeting.

This recognition is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and outreach achievements. Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities.

The newly named University Distinguished Professors are:

  • Roger Calantone, Department of Marketing
  • Marcos Dantus, Department of Chemistry and Physics and Astronomy
  • Joseph Gardiner, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • Mary Hausbeck, Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences
  • Michael Leahy, Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education
  • Linda Mansfield, departments of Large Animal Clinical Sciences and Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
  • Hendrik Schatz, Department of Physics and Astronomy, NSCL/FRIB Laboratory
  • Thomas Sharkey, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Robert Smith, Department of Medicine
  • Michael Thoennessen, Department of Physics and Astronomy, NSCL