Article 1: The Corporation

The Trustees of Michigan State University and their successors in office are created by the people of Michigan through the Constitution as a body corporate known as the Board of Trustees of Michigan State University, with the power of general supervision over the institution and the control and direction of all expenditures from the institution's funds. The Board shall consist of eight members elected for eight-year terms as provided by law. Members shall hold office until their successors have been elected as provided by law. The governor shall fill Board vacancies by appointment.

Members of the Board shall serve without compensation, but shall receive the actual and necessary expenses incurred by them in the performance of the duties of their office.